Panetta Photography

social documentary

The Gossiping Ladies

As I was slowly making my way through a Medina in Essaouira, Morocco, I kept hearing the chatter and laughter of two ladies behind me.  Not being able to distinguish a word that was being said, I could instinctively understand that they were gossiping about something or other.  Thinking they would make a great photo opp, I quickened my pace and found a little stand just off to the side of the road.  As ‘photographers luck’ would have it, this beautiful mirror was placed in the perfect position for me to frame this shot of the two gossiping ladies as they passed me by.

14 responses to “The Gossiping Ladies

  1. Carol Page-Potter 01/21/2012 at 1:49 pm

    Sometimes a great shot is all about the photographer, sometimes its about luck. In this case, I’d have to say its a combination of both – love this one Joey!

  2. Ice Beautiful 01/21/2012 at 4:13 pm

    Beautiful end expressive photo! I like your creativeness in respect of the different culture and religion! Great work!

  3. elwoodempress 01/22/2012 at 1:32 am

    A modern day Henri Cartier-Bresson.

  4. Inga 01/22/2012 at 2:20 pm

    Love it! Such happy feel to this and great composition.

  5. dailydose10 01/22/2012 at 5:06 pm

    Quick thinking and opportunity came together. The story works well through the mirror. Congrats.

  6. joeypanetta 01/23/2012 at 1:41 pm

    Thanks everyone for all your comments here!! They are all Much appreciated.

  7. Merilee Mitchell 01/26/2012 at 5:04 pm

    Joey…..you take such lovely photos. It’s a treat every time I log on.

  8. Anita Mac 01/29/2012 at 2:28 pm

    Great shot. Love the smiles on their faces – must have been a good story!!

  9. Mr Mole 01/31/2012 at 3:18 pm

    This is the luck of a street photographer who thinks quickly. great one.

Leave a Reply

